culminating

by lifeonaxis1

take a deep breath.

that’s what i say to myself when i review the variables on my plate.

one thing at a time.

that’s my second thought, because my obligations are mounting.

i can do this.

the third and final thought.  a welcome one because it has been so long since i’ve believed it.

i would just like to take an inventory of the tasks i am [slowly] incorporating into my life.

  • i have successfully taught 150+ students at two campuses
  • i have semi-successfully managed a TA for the first time
  • i am increasingly connecting with friends and family, welcoming long phone conversations and venturing into social activities of increasing diversity and complexity
  • i maintain a relatively clean home
  • i make time for relaxation and hobbies
  • i make an effort toward exercise and achieving a healthy lifestyle
  • i have begun planning my online winter course (key question: how much grading do i really want to do over winter break?)
  • i will begin planning my online spring course
  • i am working on three collaborations: 1) a methods paper with my advisor, 2) a model of aggregate economic factors and behavior, 3) a revision and extension of my Master’s thesis
  • i will revisit my dissertation beginning next semester
  • i will seek out additional collaborations to build my academic resume
  • i am thinking about potential jobs and places to live

i would just like to say: relative to even as recently as august, my life has completely turned around.  i could not function, think, speak, or interact with people.  i have come, quite literally, from nothing.  no ability to handle responsibilities.  no ability to think or speak.  no ability to perform mundane tasks.

assuming i can keep her steady, my life may become very fulfilling indeed.

